Tumblelog by Soup.io
Newer posts are loading.
You are at the newest post.
Click here to check if anything new just came in.

Peter Saint-Andre: The Seven Deadly Sins

The seven deadly sins are lust, gluttony, greed, sloth, anger, envy, and pride. Although we usually associate this list with Christianity and especially with Catholicism (the first mention of such a list is usually taken to be the fourth century Christian monk Evagrius Ponticus, although Pope Gregory I canonicalized the list around 590 A.D.), in fact there might be an Epicurean source for the list. In The Nature of Things, Lucretius (99 B.C. - 55 B.C.) mentions all seven of the deadly sins in two different passages. The first comes near the beginning of Book Three (III.53-74), where ironically he is arguing against religion:


Reposted fromJabber Jabber

Don't be the product, buy the product!